Words of Wisdom for Aug. 27, 2019:
B. Alan Wallace on
Stilling the Mind

“Within Tibetan Buddhism, shamatha practice maps on to the nine stages of attentional development wherein thoughts gradually subside as concentrative power is increased to the point at which one can effortlessly maintain single-pointed focus on a chosen object for at least four hours. The accomplishment of shamatha is accompanied by a powerful experience of bliss, luminosity, and stillness.”

― B. Alan Wallace,
Stilling the Mind:
Shamatha Teachings from Dudjom Lingpa's Vajra Essence